SSM Logo

Society for the Science of Motivation

Welcome to the Society for the Science of Motivation!

The Society for the Science of Motivation is an international, interdisciplinary organization of researchers who study motivation. Its mission is to encourage inquiry into all aspects of motivation from a variety of disciplines and perspectives, and to facilitate the dissemination of findings to a broad scientific audience.

The Society for the Science of Motivation provides a forum for the exchange of scientific information, foster discussion of new ideas and findings on motivation among researchers, and encourage exchange and collaboration in research. It will do this through a list serve, online information exchange, annual conferences, and a journal dedicated exclusively to motivation research.

Open letter to motivational researchers by SSM members Arie Kruglanski, E. Tory Higgins, Richard Sorrentino, Rex Wright, Roy Baumeister, and Andrew Elliot.

Council of the Society for the Science of Motivation:
Ayelet Fishbach (President, University of Chicago), Ruud Custers (President-Elect, Utrecht University), Andrew Elliot (Past-President, University of Rochester), James Fryer (Secretary-Archivist, State University of New York at Potsdam), Pier-Eric Chamberland (Secretary-Archivist-Elect, University of Quebec in Trois-Rivieres), Julie Huang (Treasurer, Stony Brook University), Catalina Kopetz (Wayne State University), E. J. Masicampo (Wake Forest University), Marina Milyavskaya (Carleton University), Marylene Gagne (The University of Western Australia), Thomas Goetz (University of Konstanz), Paschal Sheeran (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)

SSM Young Scientist Poster Award Committee:
Kerstin Brinkmann (chair, Université de Genève), Marieke Roskes (Free University Amsterdam), Ekaterina Damer (University of Sheffield), Idit Shalev (Ariel University), Greg Gero (Monrovia Unified School District), Nicolas Silvestrini (Université de Genève), Janna Kline (Rutgers University), Marina Milyavskaya (Carleton University), Mirko Wegner (Humboldt University Berlin), Rex A. Wright (University of North Texas), Kate Slade (Liverpool John Moores University)

SSM Early Career Award Committee:
Kerstin Brinkmann (chair, Université de Genève), Rex A. Wright (University of North Texas), Judith Harackiewicz (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Richard M. Ryan (University of Rochester), Andrew Elliot (University of Rochester), Jutta Heckhausen (University of California at Irvine)

SSM Conference Program Committee 2020:
Benjamin Converse (SSM program co-chair, University of Virginia), Szu Chi Huang (SSM program co-chair, Stanford University), Rebecca Neel (SSM local arrangements chair, University of Toronto), Jordan Etkin (Duke University), Marylene Gagne (Curtin University), Rick Hoyle (Duke University), Paschal Sheeran (University of North Caroline at Chapel Hill), Rima Toure-Tillery (Northwestern University)

SSM Publication Committee:
Arie W. Kruglanski (co-chair, University of Maryland), Rex A. Wright (co-chair, University of North Texas), Ayelet Fishbach (University of Chicago), Michele J. Gelfand (University of Maryland), E. Tory Higgins (Columbia University)

SSM Elections Committee 2019:
E. Tory Higgins (chair, Columbia University), Pier-Éric Chamberland (University of Quebec in Trois-Rivieres), Jennifer Labrecque (Oklahoma State University), Katelyn Werner (Carleton University)

SSM bylaws
SSM conflict of interest policy

Copyright 2007-2019 Society for the Science of Motivation. All rights reserved.

Follow @SocietyfortheStudyofMotivation